Skip Navigation
Special Programs

Section 504

Director - Susan Johnston

219 Ponder St.
Sulphur Springs, TX 75482
(903) 885-6230 phone
(903) 439-6166 fax
Email

  • Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (P.L. 93-112) protects the civil rights of persons with disabilities.  It prohibits discrimination against a person with a disability by an agency receiving federal funds.
  • The district will appropriately consider information from a variety of sources in making determinations. Placement decisions regarding your child must be made by a group of persons knowledgeable about your child, the meaning of the evaluation data, possible placement decisions, and the requirement that to the maximum extent appropriate, disabled children should be educated with non-disabled children. If your child is eligible under Section 504, he or she has a right to periodic reevaluations. A reevaluation must take place at least every three years.

    Section 504 does not contain a specific requirement for the period of time from a parental request or consent for an assessment to the actual assessment, but requires that an evaluation be conducted within a reasonable period of time. A “reasonable time” is generally viewed as the time allowed by Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) rules for similar events.

    The identification of Dyslexia will follow one of two procedures. The district will evaluate for Dyslexia through 504. On the other hand, if a student is suspected of having a disability within the scope of IDEA, all special education procedures must be followed.

  • Texas Education Code (TEC) §38.003 defines dyslexia in the following way:

    (1) “Dyslexia” means a disorder of constitutional origin manifested by a difficulty in learning to read, write, or spell, despite conventional instruction, adequate intelligence, and sociocultural opportunity.

    (2) “Related disorders” include disorders similar to or related to dyslexia such as developmental auditory imperceptions, dysphasia, specific developmental dyslexia, developmental dysgraphia, and developmental spelling disability.                                            

    The International Dyslexia Association defines “dyslexia” in the following way:

    Dyslexia is a specific learning disability that is neurological in origin. It is characterized by difficulties with accurate and/or fluent word recognition and by poor spelling and decoding abilities. These difficulties typically result from a deficit in the phonological component of language that is often unexpected in relation to other cognitive abilities and the provision of effective classroom instruction. Secondary consequences may include problems in reading comprehension and reduced reading experience that can impede growth of vocabulary and background knowledge.

    (Adopted by the International Dyslexia Association Board of Directors, November 12, 2002)

    Students identified as having dyslexia typically experience primary difficulties in phonological awareness, including phonemic awareness and manipulation, single-word reading, reading fluency, and spelling. Consequences may include difficulties in reading comprehension and/or written expression. These difficulties in phonological awareness are unexpected for the student’s age and educational level and are not primarily the result of language difference factors. Additionally, there is often a family history of similar difficulties.  Click button below to finish reading the full documentation on Dyslexia.

    Read Full Dyslexia Information Here

Section 504 Staff

504 Campus Coordinators
Last First Position Email Addess Phone
Ash Pam Douglas pash@ssisd.net 885-4516
Ballard Kara ECLC / Headstart kballard@ssisd.net 885-6170
Crawford Chandra Lamar ccrawford@ssisd.net 885-4550
Foster Joanna ECLC jfoster@ssisd.net 885-6170
Grimes Angela SSES agrimes@ssisd.net 885-8466
Johnston Susan Director sjohnston@ssisd.net 885-6230
Kistler Rachel Bowie rkistler@ssisd.net 885-3772
Penny Jeana SSHS jpenny@ssisd.net 885-2158
Ramirez Ana Travis aramirez@ssisd.net 885-5246
Singleton Kenya SSMS ksingleton@ssisd.net 885-7741
Page 1 of 1

Dyslexia Staff

Last First Position Email Addess Phone
Barnett Paula SSES, Travis pbarnett@ssisd.net 885-8466
Bonner Cathy SSMS, SSHS cbonner@ssisd.net 885-7741
Booher Denise All Campuses B.S., CALT, Lead Coordinator dbooher@ssisd.net 885-8466
Horton Ruanne SSES, Bowie, Douglas ruanne.horton@ssisd.net 885-8466
Johnston Susan Director sjohnston@ssisd.net 885-6230
Mejia Rosario SSMS, SSES, Travis rmejia@ssisd.net 885-8466
Ramsey Tawnette Douglas, Lamar, Travis tramsey@ssisd.net 885-4516
Page 1 of 1

Our Mission

The mission of the Sulphur Springs Independent School District is to provide students with the skills that will prepare them to adapt and excel in a fast-changing world, enabling them to lead productive lives. The district shares with parents and the community the responsibility of promoting high standards and expectations as we provide opportunities for all students within our diverse community to attain personal growth and to become lifelong learners.

COPYRIGHT © 2017 - SULPHUR SPRINGS INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM